Nitro Chaos helped commemorate Mo-Kan Dragway’s 61st anniversary with an unforgettable two-day event of nitro-fueled excitement in southeast Missouri. The third stop on the tour brought together drag racers and fans from far and wide, who witnessed an adrenaline-charged showcase of skill, speed and some record-breaking performances. Randy Meyer Racing emerged as the winner of both the McKinney Motorsports ‘A’ Field and the CP-Carillo ‘B’ Field with two of their three nitro-injected entries.


Driver of the “Nitro Queen Bee” dragster sponsored by GUNK Tough & Trusted and Shop Squad, Megan Meyer, who won the 2022 Nitro Chaos at Mo-Kan Dragway, claimed the second qualifying position with her best time of 3.59 ET at 223 mph to the 1/8th mile. Megan faced off against James Gilliland in his altered and got the immediate win first round after he had an early red-light start, but slowed to a 3.77 at 213 mph to lose in the semi-finals.



Rachel, driver of the “We Like It Dirty” Gunk and Boxo USA Tools sponsored dragster qualified third with her best time of 3.61 ET at 221 mph in the 1/8th. She defeated Donnie Massey in first round who also had an early red-light start, while Rachel ran the quickest and fastest pass of the opening round of eliminations with a 3.58 ET at 222 mph. Rachel slowed to a 3.66 ET in the semifinals against Megan, but emerged as the winner in the final round, outperforming Todd “The Bull” Bruce to secure a well-deserved victory improving to a 3.51 ET at 227 mph in the heat, running the best pass of the entire Nitro Chaos competition.


“I never thought I’d be able to run the top alcohol car at this track, and I finally did this weekend and got the win,” said hometown hero, Rachel. “Going into this weekend I was just hoping we could make some good clean A to B passes, especially since it’s the track I race at almost every weekend so I wanted to have a good outing. I had hoped to win but knew it was going to be tough, and thankfully my dad had the car figured out and we were able to run a stout 3.51 at 227 in the finals. I almost made the 3.40 club and maybe next year I will. Thanks so much to Gunk, JJ, Rich, and my mom and dad for getting this car down the track. Big thanks to DMP Awnings for sponsoring the series, and for all the guys who gave us a great track this weekend.”



Meanwhile, Matt Sackman, also representing Randy Meyer Racing, dominated the CP-Carillo ‘B’ Field and claimed the win with a solid performance in the OTG dragster. Matt qualified 10th overall, the second position of the ‘B’ Field, and defeated Tod Barker, Aaron Morrow in eliminations, and automatically earned the win as Joseph Gallegos was unable to run in the finals.


“It was a bummer we got a bye in the final, that’s not how I like to get a win but it is what it is,” said Matt. “It is cool to add a chaos trophy to the trophy collection and to get another win for Randy and the team. There’s a lot of effort put into his program.”


You can catch the live replays of all Nitro Chaos and Funny Car Chaos races only on FloRacing. The fourth and final event will be held in Lufkin, TX at Pine Valley Raceway for the championship-deciding drag race of the inaugural Nitro Chaos series. Megan Meyer is currently first place in points with a chance to secure the 2023 championship, but 2-5th places also have a chance to take her down. Rachel is currently 6th and Matt is now 7th, but neither will be able to compete at the event due to the RMR team competing elsewhere with their two dragsters.